Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

2:52 p.m. - 2005-10-27

Memorials and Epitaphs

We had a memorial service in the church today, which I didn�t attend. I had never met the lady, but do know the daughter.

I don�t know if this is a custom widely held, or is a �Canadian� thing, but it is common to go to a memorial or funeral and items and photo�s of the deceased are on display. These events always intrigue me somewhat. I love looking at the photo�s and memorabilia of the person � even if I didn�t know them.

I find other people�s stories fascinating. That�s probably one of the reason write and read here.

Today, I saw a small glimpse into a woman�s life who�d been an amazing artist, somewhat eccentric, once beautiful woman who�s life had just come to its end. She obviously had a full life. The photo�s told stories of exotic adventures, meeting equally amazing people, and basically living life to her fullest potential.

Or at least the pictures displayed led you to believe. Someone who knew her and wanted to capture a certain aspect of the woman�s life specifically chose the pictures displayed - portraying her in a particular light.

I can�t help but wonder � what will be at my funeral? How will I be portrayed? I certainly hope that whomever MC�s � will crack a joke or two. I want no tears. I want people to look at my life and think �what a talented, loving, funny woman Mugwhump was. Let�s have a party and celebrate her�.

And on my Epitaph:





Take this quiz at QuizGalaxy.com

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!