Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

11:25 a.m. - 2004-11-21

Movie Reviews

T and I haven�t gone to a movie in SOOO long. We haven�t even rented a DVD in a while. I love going to movies. I love getting lost in a storyline, and watching it unfold around me. That�s probably why I was so enamoured at Universal Studios. Oh, I know you can�t believe what you see, or don�t see, but there is just a magic that happens.

Well over the last two nights I have the pleasure of seeing two different movies. Two VERY different movies.

Yes � I know what you�re all thinking � Friday night . . . Spongebob Squarepants Premiere . . .

Well, if you thought that you�d be wrong! It didn�t take much thinking to realize that a showing of my favourites spongey character, would be sadly diminished by the throngs of loud, potentially boisterous youngun�s. I am far to selfish an adult to allow the possible tainting.

You�d think I don�t like kids. That�s not true, in fact I love kids. It�s more of, come Friday � I�m (we�re) exhausted, and tolerance levels are at an all time low. Hence, chose a movie that is better suited for our temperament at the end of the week. They movie we did choose, you ask? Well, it was a �must see� from my T � The Polar Express.

I absolutely put this movie in the top 10 of this year. It was visually stunning, and the story couldn�t help but put you into a Christmas mood.

On a number of occasions I was completely caught up with what I was watching: The cold snowy evening, the roller-coaster effects of the Express racing towards its destination of the North Pole, I was there! Tom Hanks did 5 voices in this animated wonder.

Go see it for yourself, and if you�re not in the Christmas mood when you come out, I�ll be surprised.

Last night -- we finally went to see Spongebob Squarepants � The movie. I very much enjoyed the outing � kids and all. They laugh in all the wrong places and at the silliest of things. Like when Patrick comes out with no pants on � the kids went wild with laughter. (Ok � I must admit I giggled a little myself). Obviously I�m just a big kid at heart, and I see nothing wrong with that. There is much humour for adults and kids alike, and Spongebob has such a good heart � you can�t help but fall in love with him.

I did find, however, that after watching The Polar Express then Spongebob that the animation is so vastly different I was left a little wanting with Spongebob. It had such a different feel to it. Very TV cartoony verses. well done, realistic animation.

The Polar Express is definitely a DVD that I would purchase for future Christmas�. Spongebob, on the other hand, well . . . lets just say I�ll stick to watching it on TV 12 noon and 5pm, weekdays on channel 22.

Cheers - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!