Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

1:50 p.m. - 2006-08-21

Little Guilty Pleasures

We succumbed to a few �guilty pleasures� yesterday. It�s not what you think; get your mind out of the gutter. You know I would never write about that.

My hearts desire yesterday was to get out of the house and spend some quality time with my husband. �What do you want to do?� he asked. �I don�t know. I just know two things � I want to get out of the house and I want to spend it with you� I said.

We bounced around a couple of ideas, mini-golf being one of them. We also realized that we needed to get a wedding present for a wedding that we�re attending this next weekend. So, mini-golfing was temporarily way-laid as we went to $ears and �just look� at the couples registry and figure out a gift.

The words �just look� in our household are dangerous words. What �just look� generally turns into is a new TV, or DVD, or PVR system. Very dangerous, expensive words � even though they are purchases we would eventually make anyway.

This sunny Sunday afternoon was no exception.

We had the right intentions as we entered $ears � we went directly to the gift registry computer to find the perfect gift. The Registry computer just happened to be in the kitchen & bedding department, and as I began to peruse the nuptualling couples list of kitchen suggestions my hubby was getting board and wondering off into the pillows and feather bed area.

We both struggle with our sleep. It�s never comfortable enough to get a good one, and I had casually mentioned just a few weeks ago that I have wanted a pillow top bed for some years. That maybe our next bed ��

I am always surprised when my husband (whom I love dearly) remembers the oddest of conversations between us. This was one of those odd remembrances. To cut a long story short � our shopping experience turned into a domino effect.

We looked at pillows, which got us talking about feather pillows vs. regular pillows, which got us to looking at feather beds or pillow top�s. Then before we knew it we were looking at new sheets � and a discussion and differences on thread counts.

In the end � we came home with a new feather bed (see link above), two new (regular) pillows, a new 300 thread count sheet set, and a whole new excitement about going to bed at night. And, although we almost forgot � a gift card for our friends getting married this weekend.

It felt absolutely grand engulfing ourselves into bed last night � a pure, unadulterated, guilty pleasure � and a great sleep to boot.

However, the next time we say �lets just �go look� at such-and-such� we�ll need to re-think our destination and decide to go play a round of mini-golf instead.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!