Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

4:25 p.m. - 2006-07-04

Update on a Long Weekend

Update on our Canadian (July 1st Canada Day) weekend.

Saturday morning started out slowly, but quickly gained speed. We had a BBQ to attend out in the country. G.O.R.G.E.O.U.S day!!! Our friend�s property is quite large and gave adequate room to keep the 12 or so kids away from the 12 or so adults who wanted to visit. Bocce, swimming, trampoline, swing, sunning, chatting, and general camaraderie ensued. Oh ya � all that and food too boot.

We dragged our butts home around eight o�clock, but I found out that all the families with kids went home at the same time, and the friends without kids stayed and chatted around the fire until ten. Now I wished we�d stayed. Alas . . . .

Sunday dawned hot and bright and I played hooky from church. Actually, I woke up just as church was starting. As T and I were sitting sipping out much needed and necessary morning java I hit upon an idea.

�T!� I said. �Today � just today � let�s do nothing. I don�t want to rush around doing errands, or housebound projects. Let�s just relax and doing nothing but snooze, or read, or play video games, or �. nothing.�

At first he protested strongly. Listing off all the things he wanted to get to, or that he felt absolutely HAD to be done. Then as I began to remind him that this was a long weekend, and relaxing and enjoying them was something that needed to be done sometimes, his protestations began to subside, and he began to take ownership of the idea.

So, Sunday � we didn�t do much of anything at all. I had hoped that we make it out a little bit. Do a little local sightseeing, but it didn�t happen, and that was ok. T had a couple of much needed naps, gave �Frogger� a run for, and generally lazed around a bit.

I on the other hand, finished a book that I have been struggling to get through, but really got into once I got past the first 100 pages. I�ll write an entry about it shortly.

After a quiet Sunday, and restful evening, Monday came like a bat out of heck! A slow start, but once it hit � bam � it hit with many things on the list.

Two big things occurred though � One is that I got to feel like an under-aged 16 year, and NO, don�t let your mind go to dirty thoughts. It�s been quite hot here lately (hot for us anyway) and T took it in his mind that we needed some adult coolant. Off to the liquor store we went. I haven�t bought liquor in years and years, it�s just not something we have around the house. This is not to say we don�t enjoy the occasional bottle of wine. But T decided that Monday was perfect Margarita drinking weather, so off we went to buy mix. I really felt like I was doing something naughty. I�m not sure why. Margarita�s felt so � grown up � so exotic � so perfect for a hot summer day. However, since we don�t own a blender � the crushed ice part didn�t quite happen correctly. It was more of Margarita mix on the rocks, which I believed loaned itself greatly to the potency of the beverage.

The second big thing that occurred is that our �project� with the cabinet took over the rest of our day. I stripped and varnish the cabinet while T made the rolling shelves to go inside.

I�m so excited! This is going to fantastic when it�s all said and done. I just have to put a couple more coats of varnish on it, and refinish the doors that are on the front. If I get organized enough I will post pictures on my Flickr account.

Speaking of Flickr � I took some pictures from the party on Saturday, but haven�t posted them yet. Some really lovely garden shots � I think.

Anyway � here we are back at Tuesday, and for the first time in a long time I think I can say I truly enjoyed out long weekend. And am truly thankful that summer is here.

I wish all my American friends and family a very happy, and safe 4th of July!!

Blessings - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!