Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

8:25 p.m. - 2006-03-28

Starting Over

Hello! My name is Mugwhump and I�m a reality show addict.

I love TV. I would probably go quite loopy if I couldn�t get my daily fix. And before you even ask � no � I did not give up TV for lent. However, I have a confession � I�m a reality show addict.

Now, I�m sure that many of you are laughing at that. �What�s so �reality� with these reality shows anyway? They all look and sound and act so � scripted.�

And for the most part � I agree with you. Today, I�m not here to talk to you about �Survivor�, �The Apprentice�, �America�s Next Top Model�. No, I�m talking about a little day time reality show called Starting Over. This reality show is different.

It�s a house of approximately 6 women who are all working (individually) on getting their lives together. Or to put it in better terms � they are learning life skills that they got short shifted from in their younger years. Different ages, different races, and coming from all walks of life.

Some of these ladies came from very sad, dysfunctional childhoods. Some of these ladies have just plain grown up spoiled and don�t know how to be adults (these are often the ones that the learning comes hard too). I dislike self help books tremendously, but while I watch this show I often reflect on my own personal journey, my good and bad traits, and ways that I can think differently.

That said � I doubt sincerely I could do what these women are doing. They�re tackling their demons head on, AND on television!! Some of these women spend several weeks, some stay for a few months. When their �life coaches� (there are two on the show, as well as a Psychologist) deem that they have learned all they can, and are better equipped to handle life on their own � they �Graduate� right off the show. Then another somewhat unsuspecting new women moves in, and the gambit starts all over again.

I have a great deal of respect for the women who chose to go this route. It�s become terribly addicting for me to watch. I�m just thankful I don�t have either of the �life coaches� in my life. They�d disembowel me in no time. However, I just like to think of it as my cheap, easy, therapy session during my lunch on any given work day.

Now, I�ve got to run � �America�s Next Top Model� is on. Followed by �Amazing Race� at 10 . . .

Cheers - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!