Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

3:28 p.m. - 2006-03-13

A Good Long Weekend!

It�s amazing how a three-day weekend can rejuvenate a person�s spirit � that and a visit with a long-time friend. K and her husband P were out visiting last week from Ontario. The last time I saw K was 6 years ago, and the last time I saw P was at their wedding 24 years ago. Can we say �long overdue�???

K and I have been friends since we were 11 and 12 (she�s 363 day�s older than me). And she is someone I cherish because we�ve seen each other through so many years � good and bad.

This was her husband�s very first trip to the west coast, so it was important to us to show off our fine city and area. It�s fun being a tourist in your own town, and especially fun when you see it all new again through someone�s fresh vision. I took several pictures, which you can check out on my Flickr account.

K and I toured the mall on Friday! This is an important thing to do between long time girlfriends. The giving and getting of valuable opinions on cloths with people who�ve seen you through many eras of fashion do�s and don�ts. I seriously scored! And you know what I think about shopping . . .

The weekend was spent all over the place: Sooke for lunch at Mom�s Caf�, west from Sooke to take a walk out on Wiffin Spit (and to show them crabs living under the rocks at low tide), Fort Rod Hill � the boys got busy checking out the military paraphernalia, and we girls headed out to look at Fisguard Lighthouse, a stroll around Beacon Hill Park, and then another stroll through the Lieutenant Governor�s (the Queen�s Representative for British Columbia) residence (open to the public when she�s NOT in residence � what�s with that?) � and just generally driving around.

We had so wanted to get up island, but the weather just plain SUCKED last week. We had high winds, rain, hail, snow, and sunshine. This is not normal, nor is it fair.

But I digress.

It was great to see this friend again, to reminisce old memories and create new ones.

Frankly � we were just happy the two husbands got along. We knew we girls would be ok � we already had a 33-year proven track record.

They�re gone now. Back to their dairy farm in southern Ontario, back to their 4 boys, and a life completely different from my own.

All in all � it was a grand weekend!!

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!