Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

4:44 p.m. - 2005-11-24

Havin' a good day!

I had a good day at work today. I mentioned yesterday that I was a little � frazzled � about getting out a newsletter. Today, I woke up and had an inspiration.

Well � that inspiration turned out to be the making of a great and creative day. Thank you Lord!

I�ve been canvassing people from around the church about their family traditions surrounding Christmas. What makes their Christmas special? What event or occurrence gives them a special feeling of anticipation towards celebrating our Saviour�s birth? And what occurred to me as I rose from my deep, dark, and strange slumber was that I needed to talk to the children in our Preschool (that operates out of our churches basement).

Kids (in this case they were all 4 year-olds) have the best answers for everything, and I thought I�d share some of them with you.

I asked them: �What makes your Christmas special? What do you like to do best with your family at Christmas time?�

And there answers were:
Julia - Likes the presents.
Leah - Everyone hangs stockings.
Simon - I get to put the angel on the top of the tree.
Emily - Getting presents from Santa.
Carolann - We go to the Mall to see Santa
Samuel - Eat candy cane, opening presents, and driving around to see Christmas lights.
Jack - I have a snowman I put on our tree.
Andrew - Grandma and Grandpa come and visit.
Holly � (in a very small, quiet voice with a sparkle in her eye) - Hug my family.
Ella - Make Christmas treats.
Nicola - Celebrate Christmas with my family.
Justin - Get presents.
Gracon - Cookies with green icing.

I�m sure that you can see that I couldn�t help but come away from this �roving reporter� experience with a smile on my face. Talking to these wee ones really made my Thursday special. I�m really glad God planted the thought in my brain this morning.

I�m beginning to feel a little more Christmasy, but I�m still not quite ready for Christmas music. Go figure!

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!