Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

11:30 a.m. - 2005-07-14

Grammar Grumping

I�m taking a brief departure from writing about our Alberta bound adventures.

I have a grave and serious problem with a grammar �rule� �� i before e, except after c - with � what �exceptions?

What�s with this rule � it rarely applies � and here is proof:

beige
ceiling
feign
geisha
heir
heinie (tee hee I said heinie)
heifer
height
heinous
heist
PEI (I just threw this one in to see if anyone was paying attention)
reign
rein
seismic
their
vein
veil
weigh
weight
weird
weir

And I know there is more out there. Can anyone explain what a so-called �rule� has so many exceptions? What am I missing in this equation?

I have always had such a battle with ie and ei�s. Now I see that it�s because English (of which most of these words are not of English origin) is such a darned hard language to learn. How can we possibly expect foreigner�s to grasp these writing skills? Oh, and there�s another one!

Help me!.... Please!

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!