Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

1:45 p.m. - 2005-06-22

Me?? Anit-social... and wet feet





take the antisocial test.


and go to mewing.net. because laura's feeling social.


That�s just a little bit of silliness to keep you on your toes.

I don�t think I�m all that anti-social. I don�t mind my own company, and generally would prefer to stay home than go �out on the town�. Although the occasional date with my husband wouldn�t be turned down. But all in all, I�m a pretty quiet person.

On other fronts � I�ve reserved the �panel van� to make the arduous trek to Alberta to pick up some furniture from my mom. We�ll be leaving after the long weekend. One day drive there, one day there, and one day travelling home. Both ends of those day drives are very dependent on getting on the ferries. Those crazy, never to be trusted B.C. Ferries. Miss one ferry and it can screw up a whole days plans.

Speaking of Alberta � some of you may have heard about the terrible flooding problems that have been occurring around Calgary, Edmonton and some of the outlying towns. My mom�s town is one of the places that have seen evacuation. The population of this town is approximately 2,300, a small town to say the least. However, over the recent weekend they evacuated almost half the population, including my mom.

I spoke to her this morning to see if she (and her house) was all right. My 83-year-old mother laughingly tells me this story:

�A friend of mine, who lives up on that hill over by the old sawmill, called me up to tell me that I could come and stay with her. I decided that that would be a good thing. Then when the fire department fellow came by to tell me that it was time to go I decided that I didn�t want to miss out on any of the fun. I wanted to get evacuated to Old�s Agriculture College like everybody else! I didn�t want to miss out on the action. This could be fun!!�

I was floored. My mom was on an adventure. She managed to get �evacuated� on Saturday night, make it back to town on Sunday to get packed to take the bus out (from Old�s) on Monday morning to go Jasper to see what her new digs at the Lodge would look like. Phewwww . . . . .

She�s a crazy woman. If I�d have know she�d become so alive over a move of this magnitude (out of her home of 30 years and into a Lodge in another town), then we should have moved her a couple of years ago.

To top all of this off she also informs me that she�s sold her house. All during the time that she�s been in Jasper.

I haven�t a clue what�s coming next. All that I know is that I�ll be in her neck of the woods in about two weeks, and I�m positive I�ll have more stories to tell.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!