Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

11:49 a.m. - 2005-05-27

Long weekends, Long weeks

I am sincerely touched by the responses I received from yesterday�s entry. Thank you one and all that sent e-mails, notes, or signed my Guestbook. I am a little overwhelmed with so many responses. Who�da thunk it?!?

------------------------------------------------------

Why is it that so called �short weeks� (ie. the workweek following a long weekend), feel so long? It�s just not fair. We�re all dragging our feet around this office. Thankfully, I�ll be out of here by 1:30, at which time I�ll be taking the bus downtown to meet a friend.

This weekend is a big weekend for this city. We have an annual sailboat race called the �Swiftsure�. It also always coincides with the American long weekend (Memorial Day � what is Memorial Day celebrating or commemorating anyway?), so a lot of the competitors are up from the states.

Having long since moved away from doing anything in the downtown core, I try my hardest to avoid going anywhere near there during this particular weekend. It�s crazy!! The competitors are well behaved, but many of the youth grab this opportunity to party-hearty!! Thereby making the downtown inner harbour less than attractive.

I am, however, venturing downtown this evening to join a friend in the use of a gift certificate she received for �Darcy�s Pub�. Free food is always an added bonus. So we will gallantly battle the crowds of tourists and sailors for some fine taste of summer livin� downtown Victoria style. As I said earlier � I rarely go downtown, but on this occasion I will try my best to enjoy myself, and soak in the sights and sounds.

AND we�ll both be doing this sans husbands. Whooppeee!!!

To all and any of my American friends � have a safe and fun weekend!

Cheers - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!