Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

9:24 a.m. - 2005-03-02

Trojan Condoms don't mean sex

Creative juices are not flowing these days. To much is going on at work and too little sleep at night. Neither my husband nor I are sleeping very well. I NEED to be in bed by 10, even if I read for thirty minutes. But lately we�ve either stayed up until 11 to watch something on TV (read: a new season of Amazing Race � Rob and Ambah must go), or I stay up reading until I finish that darn book.

I am happy to say I finally finished �Trojan Odessy� by Clive Cussler. Another instalment in the �Dirk Pitt�(registered trademark) adventures.

Funny story here - A couple of weeks ago I was going over my grocery receipt from Safeway. I was doing a little comparison-shopping, but I ALWAYS find that Safeway is more expensive. (I really don�t know why I shop there other than it�s the closest, largest grocery to us). I also like to check the receipt to make sure they�ve charged me for the right item.

As I looked over the bill, I saw that they broke items into categories, i.e. bakery, deli, taxable sundries, etc. Well under the �Taxable Sundries� I see that it says �Trojan O��.. $11.99�. My first thought was � what is �Trojan O?�. I didn�t by anything called a Trojan!! . . .

!!!!Oh wait!!!! � they charged me for Trojan Condoms instead of something else.

�Honey! Look at this. Safeway charged me for condoms.� I bellow down the hall to me sweety.

�I didn�t buy Condoms. We don�t need Condoms. I�d better go down there and talk to these people. Honey � you go down and talk to them. I don�t want to discuss condoms with our grocery people.� I say as hubby and I meet in the hall to look at the receipt together.

He laughed and said �You made the purchase � you go talk to them. Are you sure it is condoms? Trojan Condoms probably run about that price . . . I think � I don�t know. I�ve never bought . . .� his voice trails off.

Well, I was in a quandary. I didn�t really want to go confront our grocery people over condoms. That�s the seriously passive person in me. But 12 bucks is 12 bucks � that�s equal to at least 2 bags of cookies, or a good magazine!

WAIT!!! That�s it!!!! Light bulb goes off in brain � the new book I bought is called Trojan Odyssey, and it would be classified as a taxable sundry. Confrontation is averted.

Loud, long belly laughs are emitted from hubby�s body. Long, sharp dagger looks are emitted from wife�s body language.

Now � weeks later, I can laugh at the situation. And I�m glad to say I used my Trojan wisely!




Post script: I realized today that in two weeks I will be having a birthday. Now, usually I'm not one to go around telling everyone, but I've decided that I'm in dire need of some snail-mail loving (snail-mail that is not a bill, or the nearest pizza place). If you are so inclined I would absolutely LOVE to receive a birthday card from you. I'd love you even more if you put money in it, but I realize that would be pusing our relationship a little. So - IF - you would like to I'll give you part of a mailing address. If you've been a keen reader here you'll know which part of the world I live in, but the other part would be in care of 1790 Feltham Road, V8N 2A5. If you don't know which part of the world I live in and would still like to share in the goodwill please send me an e-mail, or leave a comment and I'll respond.

That's not too 'pimpin' is it?

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!