Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

4:39 p.m. - 2005-02-25

A sad, sad night in televion land

We had a quiet evening last night. Thursday�s are our favourite night to relax and watch TV. I had been thinking about it all day (yes � sometimes I exist in a very small world). I have been savouring the thought of the hubby and I cuddled on the couch, warm, cozy, and relaxed. Ready to watch our best-liked show line up � Survivor and CSI.

Ah, yes . . . this was the night.

However, the cable company had something quite different in mind. At exactly 8:03pm dark falls across my vision. The snowy flecks of black and white are awash on my TV screen.

The cable was down!

Panic rose in my throat. Thoughts of a casual evening dashed against the angry storm beaten rocks. How do people do it? How do people live without cable? How do people live without television?

Desperately I call the number one house on my Survivor fan friends list � no answer. I knew they were sitting there all comfy and self-preservationist in the �Don�t bother me, don�t you know I�m watching Survivor? I can�t possibly answer the phone!!� thinking. I left a frantic, mumbled message of �HELP!�

Number two friend is quickly dialed. Again with the answering machine. What??? Do these people not have call display? Does their ringer not call out with extra �brrrrinnngggg, brrrrinnnggg� knowing the urgency of my need? Do these people actually have lives outside of their houses in the evenings?

Again I find myself leaving a disturbing, potentially delusional phone message.

My mind races � who to call next . . . . Alright, I know who!! (Lightbulb glows brightly over my head), and dial I do number three acquaintance. Ring �.. ring �.. ring �. �Hello you�ve reached seven four fou . . . . . . �, again I leave a slightly lackluster message of yearning.

My hoped for evening was passing me by. Our cuddle turned into T doing taxes in the other room and me laying on the couch reading, while leaving the TV on mute . . . just in case.

8:30 . . . .

No cable.

9:05 . . . .

Still no cable.

9:40 and still no fluid blur to fill my visual senses.

I slowly lug my downcast body towards the computer in hopes of losing myself in the bliss of computer generated games. (Jewel Quest rocks!!). I while away the next 30 minutes on other mindless internet gaming to realize it is now time to take to my bed. I face it � I am a TV junkie, and I�ve just missed my hit.

One last time I try the television, my hand reaches for the remote. With trepidation my thumb presses the power button � with the cable still be off? Will we ever have cable television again? Can I live with one station? One station that is not clear, nor does it carry any of my deeply loved programs?

Click . . . .

Bless my soul! Our cable has returned!! But our viewing hours are over as well as the two shows I waited with bated breath to watch. Now we are faced with re-runs until May sweeps. How can I ever view cable in the eye again? At least we�ll still tomorrow.


This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!