Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

9:11 a.m. - 2004-10-08

Excitement abounds

As I laid on the floor (hubby had the couch and I wanted to be close the fire in the fireplace) watching CSI last night I did a quick count off . . . . 1 . . . 2 . . . 3 more sleeps until we catch the first ferry to begin our grand adventure to California. I�m feeling a little histrionic these days, as my excitement level grows and grows. And yet, reality bites my butt in my attempts to stay grounded � I still have a lot of little things to clean up before we go.

I came in to work early (not out of the norm for me) to make sure I had left the proper paper trails behind. Since our Children�s programs launched in early September I�ve been realizing just how much I know. I�m pretty much the only one who has �been there, done that�, and it becomes very apparent each Sunday when I try to wean myself away from specific areas in order to gain a better overview of Family and Children�s Ministry. I never realized I managed so much before. I never realized, how dependent people had become on my knowledge of �who, what, and where�. This is not to say that I�m happy that this has occurred and that I�m filled with a sense of pride in my knowledge. In fact the opposite is true � I don�t want to be the only who knows the �who, what and where� of this place. I don�t want the control factor � I want other�s to rise up and become the leaders they are capable of being.

I boldly announced at our staff meeting this last Tuesday � �I really LOVE my job!!!�. Which raised a number of chuckles around the room. I was so hesitant to come on full-time last spring, and the Pastor that asked me is still amazed that I asked for time to think about it. Here I am, 4 months under my belt, and I�m happier than a pig in poop since I choose to make the leap into full time work here.

The chuckles bubbled up because other people could see my new excitement, and were surprised that it hadn�t dawned on me earlier.

New enthusiasm aside, T and I are very ready for this break. This last year has been very busy, very trying, and we�re well overdue. One little piece of the planning puzzle came together yesterday. There is a �little� church in Lake Forest, California that we have wanted to visit and we�ve rearranged things to allow us the pleasure. Saddleback Church is a church of several thousand people and Pastored by a gentleman by the name of Rick Warren. His name recently became well known because of a book he authored called �The Purpose Driven Life�. In this day and age of spiritual renewal this book has sold millions of copies, that and all the commercial paraphernalia that comes out of that. I am not a fan of the book, but am very excited to see how this church of thousands runs. And of course I�d just love a 15 minute chat with their Family and Children�s Pastor. (Gee � I wonder why??)

Well, on that note I will bid you adieu. I will attempt to squeeze one more entry in tomorrow, but in case I don�t . . . I hope each and every one of you have an excellent couple of weeks. Thanks to those of you who responded to my call for postcard sending � I just hope they make it to you before I�m back.

Cheers � LJ :-)

2 more sleeps!!!!!!

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!