Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

12:32 p.m. - 2004-08-27

Diarea of the Fingers

I�m having one of those weeks when I�m too busy to update, but have the most amazing epiphanies on topics to write about. So here I am, sitting in front of my computer, with a little time to take � and can�t think of any of those topics. Tsk, tsk, tsk, I suppose that is a sign of age and the need to keep notes.

I will share an experience I had yesterday with on-line blogging. There is a blogger that I read daily, without fail, who posts �Theological Thursday�s�. He is a Christian who on Thursday�s posts a particular topic, writes about it, and invites comment. I always look forward to �Theological Thursday�s� because I never know what I�m going to learn, or how I�m going to be challenged.

I am not a theologian, or a Christian apologist (someone who offers an argument in defence of something controversial). I am simply a woman who has a strong but simple faith in the Lord God. Yesterday�s topic was great, and I learned something that I had never taken the time to think too deeply on, and commented happily with my humble opinion. I might also add � I was the first person to leave a comment.

I checked back a little later to see what anyone else might have said, and sometimes the blogger himself leaves a comment on a comment. Sure enough someone (I�ll call him Theo) had left their two bits, but I thought they had missed the point of the discussion, so I entered a new counter-comment.

Theo quickly commented again in a defensive way. Which got my dander up a bit, as I had not intended to insult, but it was painfully obvious I had. So, guess what � yes � I entered ANOTHER comment to solidify my original point as well and appease any hurt feelings.

Later that evening, as I lay in bed late into the wee hours, I could not shake the experience from my memory. I was surprised as my unwillingness to let go of an issue (repeated comments on one site in one day), and my confidence to feel comfortable to do so.

1) When did I get the chutzpah?

2) What gave me the right to feel so comfortable to banter back and forth so freely on someone else�s site?

3) What the HECK happened back there?

In this blogging world of pseudo anonymity is it just me, or is there a freer sense to voice an opinion? Am I alone in these thought? Does everyone feel free to comment (within boundaries of �appropriate� commenting, i.e. not talking trash or using profanity). Or is there an unspoken code of ethics that I am not aware of? A unvoiced rule on only one or a maximum of two comments from one person in any single day, I may very well have over stepped them yesterday (3 in total from me).

I seem to be rambling now. Needless to say I e-mailed the blogger that I enjoy so much and apologized for potentially having overstepped boundaries in his comment boxes. I would be embarrassed if I were barred from the gift of commenting into other people�s sites. That is to say: where comments are invited.

Have any of you ever had a like-minded experience. I�d love to know your thoughts.

Cheers - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!