Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

3:25 p.m. - 2004-08-05

Long Lazy Hazy Days of Summer

I think quite fondly of my summers as a wee youth. A day when kids didn�t get shoved into every and any program available. A day when most moms were at home all day, every day. A day when you woke up, went to the TV room in you PJ�s and happily munched down a bowl of cereal (or some such breakfast food). A day when you lived in shorts all day and wandered around the neighbourhood to find a friend to hang with.

That of course came to an end in the later teen years. When finding work seemed like a cool thing to do. Then graduating and finding out what real work was all about. I still get excited, when it�s the middle of June, the thought that July and August are just around the corner. All the wonderful things you plan to do and see. However, it steals by you so quickly. Summer to do lists undone. Plans of the perfect tan, and all those great books to plough through.

Here we are the 5th day into August and I�m already dreading September. I didn�t enjoy enough summer yet!!! I didn�t go camping. I didn�t (for the 19th consecutive year) make it out to finally see the Sooke Pot Holes. I didn�t wear enough sundresses. I didn�t laze around on our back deck �ploughing� through books. I didn�t get much colour (which my skin will thank me for later). I didn�t stroll around the causeway. I didn�t get to Long Beach and hear the unusual sound (I�ve only heard on that beach) that comes from dragging your feet in the sand.

No � I worked my ass off along with the rest of the adult human race.

�There�s lots of time to do those things� you say. Wrong � those things won�t happen. I�d even bet you a dollar that a year from now I�ll have another entry with much the same sentiment. I can see the headlines now �Summer 2005 to do list not done�.

I am my own worst enemy, and I know it.

I have read some good books. I have spent some time on my back deck, and I�m not completely pasty white. So I suppose one can say all is not lost. I just long for those days when I can roll out of my bed in my PJ�s and leisurely munch my breakfast before heading out to find some friends to hang with during the long lazy days of summer.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!