Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

3:14 p.m. - 2004-07-28

Answers to 5 Questions Game

Thank you to those who chose to play the 5 question game game. I�m excited and nervous as I ponder the depths and breadths of these deep deep queries. Here goes:

Five Questions from Firemind:

1) Just how many Spongebob Squarepants items do you have?

OK � 3 Christmas ornament and a carrying case (looks like a purse, except it has a Christmas theme on it), 1 candy holder (in the shape of Spongebob � thankfully the candy doesn�t pop out of his butt), 1 pair of flip-flops, 1 finger puppet, random stickers, 1 �Sticker Extravaganza Collection� (180 stickers) and companion sticker album, 1 key chain (sans 1 hand which broke off), 1 pair of sunglasses, 1 colouring book with pencil and roller stamp attached, 1 pair of PJ�s, 1 alarm clock that plays the theme song (will never grace our bedroom), a Nintendo GameCube game � Spongebob Squarepants saves Bikini Bottom, 1 giant TV pillow with Spongebob, Patrick and Gary (Spongebob�s pet snail) on it, 2 small plastic figurines that adorn my cubicle at work, and I think that covers it. I�m always on the hunt for more. I�ve heard rumour that there�s a Spongebob shower radio out there, but I haven�t seen it yet. I have yet to meet a Spongebob item I didn�t like. Oh ya, and Spongebob bandaids. I would like to add that I have only personally purchased the bandaids, PJ�s, and key chain.

2) How did you become a 'Motorcycle Mama'?

Married into it. Motorcycles were the furthest thing from my mind until one day a certain Big Mugwhump drove up my driveway and called out �hop on Baby!� (OK he�s actually never called me baby - thankfully), and once I loosened my fear grip around his girth � I�ve enjoyed it ever since. That�s when we had been dating for about 6 weeks, which is almost 3 years ago.

3) It has been said that 'a house is not a home' and 'a church is not a building'. Do you agree with these statements? Why or why not?

I would agree with that statement. A house only becomes a home when it is full of heart, warmth, and hospitality. Otherwise it is just a building. The Church, in the original sense, was a gathering of people with a common understanding of their faith in the risen Lord Jesus Christ. There is scripture that says ��where two or three come together in my(Christ) name, there am I with them.� (Matthew 18:20) That to me epitomises church. We call a building a church, and gather there to worship, but it is only a building set for function and logistics. A group of people can gather in the park and call it church. In a coffee shop � and call it church (although I suspect the management might have something to say about it). A church is so much more than a building. I would go so far as to say that I can sit by myself and have communion with my God (scripture, prayer, meditation, etc. . . .) � in that instant � I would call it church as well. A meeting of God and His people.

4) When did you know you were a Christian?

I made a personal decision to follow Christ on April 19, 1987 when I was 25. On that day I came to recognize my personal need for a Saviour - Christ. That He had been a man who was God in the flesh and walked on this earth, was crucified, dead, buried, and rose again on the third day. He did all that for me � Mugwhump (aka LJ). �Knowing� I was a Christian was a longer road of discovery, but making that first step/decision was the wisest thing I�ve ever done.

5) How do you balance believing 'Jesus is THE WAY' and respecting religious diversity?

Oh Man!!! First thing that comes to my mind is the rest of the verse started above � �Jesus is the way, the truth, and the light . . . �. The operative word being truth.

I think the question boils further down to this. Choosing between pluralism vs. syncretism. Pluralism � philosophically, any system which emphasizes diversity and rejects monism. In other words I believe what I believe, and although I am opposed to what you believe � respect you in that belief. Verses Syncretism � the amalgamation of different religions, cultures, or schools of thought. In other words - picking and choosing bits as we go.

I chose pluralism. As I walk out my faith I have to respect other peoples belief systems. Otherwise I block any entry to discuss our diversities. To quote C.S.Lewis from �Mere Christianity� � �If you are a Christian, you are free to think that all those religions, even the queerest ones, contain at least some hint of the truth.�

Five Questions from Twinsie:

1) If you could live anywhere in the world other than where you are now where would that be?

I had to think about this question. I have not travelled much. Most of my experiences have been in Canada, and limited United States. There are so many beautiful places in the world, and each places comes with its advantages and disadvantages. How to choose which you can live with? . . . My comfort levels are a small world. I do not like change and moving verges on the abhorrent. So � where would I live? � How about an hour out of town?

2) If you were chosen to be on a reality show what show would that be?

Extreme Make-over � Home addition. They can send me and mine away for a week, and I�d come back to a whole new home. (not the answer you were expecting, uh?)

3) Who is your least favourite person in the world and why?

I tend to be a person who works hard at liking or seeing the good in everyone. However, if I had to chose it would be anyone who is a pedophile. They are the lowest of lows that prey on the innocence of children for their own self-gratification. And yet I pity them because they probably experienced what they are administering, and are very sick in that.

4) What is one activity that you would like to try but are afraid of?

Living in a foreign country. I have fear around visiting in a country that doesn�t understand or speak English, or has no patience with single-lingual people.

5) Favorite vegetable?

Vegetable? What�s that?

Five Questions from Lindzeeleigh:

1) Why the obsession with Spongebob? [I have never watched so I have no idea!]

Obsession is a strong word. My love of all things Spongebob is well under control. It�s the other people in my life that continue to shower me with this themed memorabilia. And frankly � I just find him plain funny.

2) Where/When did you and T meet?

Three and a half years ago this tall dark handsome guy walks into our Sunday morning kids program at church and asks he if can volunteer to help with the sound for our kids band (which plays the music for the kids on Sunday morning). I spied him, but was very tentative to approach. Over time I find out that we have a mutual friend from out of town in common, and work up to small talk. In February of 2001 I finally got the courage to get a friend to mutually invite he and I (separately) over for dinner (unbeknownst to him that it was a potential setup). The day before this �dinner� he comes to a church function, starts to chat with me and casually points across the room. �Have you met my girlfriend?� . . . . needless to say dinner was off, I was crushed, and immediately wrote him off, positive God meant me to be single for my remaining days on this earth. Several months later I hear through the grapevine that he and �girlfriend� had broken up. I made no move beyond casual greetings. August of 2001 I was on a weeks holidays and he sidles up to me one Sunday evening at church and asks me what I�m up to on my holiday. I reply �Nothing�. He responds �Ya wanna do �nothing� with me on Wednesday?�

And the rest is, as they say � history. We were married 13 months later (two years this September).

3) Do you wish you could have got married younger?

There are moments when I truly wish we had met 15-20 years ago. Yet we both realize that life carved out very different paths for us over those years. Years that helped to create the people we are today. Would we have noticed each other 15-20 years ago? Would either of us have been able to have a healthy relationship? For me the answer is a resounding �no�. My 30�s were very traumatic, and I had no place in my life for anyone else. However, all that said � you can be darn sure we will make the most out of the time we have together here and now.

4) How do you feel about the church as an institution? [As in all the different denominations]

I think that part of this question is answered about � see #3 question from Firemind. The one big thing that I have learned is that Christianity is not religion, its relationship, relationship with the creator � God himself and in turn each other. Each denomination, varied as they are, develops different ways of creating relationship.

5) Why did you start writing at diaryland?

Blame it on Laura-Jane, right here on Diaryland. I did a google search for my name Laura Jane, and one of several choices was our very own Ms. Laura-Jane K�s diaryland site. That was last summer. I had never heard of on-line blogging before, and was quickly sucked in to reading on a daily basis. She doesn�t know it, but I still use her profile to look up other new reads [she does now that I�ve written this]. January of this year I decided to take the plunge. I wasn�t really sure why I was doing it, but it seemed like a lot of fun. It has challenged my writing skills, fired off some neurons, and I�ve been introduced to some fantastic people.

Now thankfully, here are some lighter questions. Thank You Raspberry I needed to change gears there.

Five Questions from Raspberry:

1) Would you rather have your hands glued to the side of your face (aka "the scream") or to your bum cheeks (aka... um... i don't know)?

My face � my hands aren�t big enough to cover all my . . . asssets . . .

2) if you were to place yourself in the background of a famous painting, which one would it be and why?

I�ve always been partial to a particular Monet - the one that is a lovely park scene. The way the sun dapples the canvas, the people relaxing and enjoying a warm sunny summer day. To just be one of those people sitting on the grass watching others walk by. That and the blurry lens he painted things � you wouldn�t be able to see my features properly. Some say he was near sighted, and painted exactly how he saw things with his poor eyesight. I relate to that.

3) If you could have chosen your own name, what would it be?

Good question. As many people know, I don�t like my name (for me that is. It�s fine for others, in fact I�ve met a few). Hence I go by my initials. I�ve often contemplated what name I�d rather have, and I don�t have a good answer. However, it would have to be a name that didn�t already have a bad connotation � Beelzebub, Lucifer, or Butthead. Or names that constantly need to be spelled out Sassifrass, Candi (with an I), CindI, or LJ (you have no idea how often I get asked to spell �LJ� � dah � initial L, initial J . . .)

4) Would you rather be a sex-a-holic or a sex-a-phobic?

One turned me into the other. Can�t say which was better.

5) How many chucks would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

42

Five Questions from Laura-Jane:

1)Dear Mugwhump, I have read through the grape-vine that you are interested in at least thinking about entering the realm of digital camera purchasement. Is this TRUE?! (Say, yes!) (Sidebar: I use a Canon Powershot A60, which probably has more features than I need.)

True.

2) Mugwhump and Husband have won an all expenses paid week-long holiday to (*Fill In Dream Vacation Spot Here*).

Disneyland � yes its true, I married the biggest kid in the world.

(3) Is the new job going alright? It seems that you haven't been updating as often as usual of late. Any reason for this? Am I crazy? (I suppose that's three questions..)

The new job is going . . . alright. This week is particularly busy because we are short staffed (holidays), combined with my actual job becoming more defined and creating more work (ok by me). I can tell work is busier because I have always tended to update from work (shhhh � don�t tell). But it is not from lack of wanting to. And yes � you are crazy � but we love you none-the-less.

(4) What is your worst character trait, or one that tops the list of things you'd like to work on?

Self esteem. I hate it when I hate myself! Then I just beat myself for picking on me. Which makes me have to explain the bruises to myself, and me just goes ballistic. But seriously � I wish I was more confident in myself and my abilities.

(5) Do you resent me for having promised to bake you a carrot cake ages ago and not coming through? Wait, I have to answer this one for you. You CANNOT resent me for this, because I still believe that I will bake one for you. It is only you patience that must be tested!! (End Questions.)

I could never be mad at you. Besides � its my turn to buy lunch.

Thanks to all who played today. This was fun and challenging. At times more challenging than fun. But that�s all apart of the game.

I�ll take anyone on!!! Come on new people - give my your best shot!

Cheers - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!