Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

3:44 p.m. - 2004-07-07

Spongey Compulsions

It has occurred to me recently that my love of all things �SpongeBob� have become a bit of a compulsion . . . . . for others in regards to me. Within in my growing collection of � dare I say � Spongebob Squarepants Collectibles, I have personally purchased very little.

Recently I acquired � free � two 1.5-inch high figurines of a singing Spongebob and Sandy Squirrel (a friend who lives in the see as well, but in an air-tight bubble on the ocean floor). They adorn the top of my monitor at work, and are a lovely support staff to the little green soldiers who protect me from all manner of evil. Also joining the ever-growing masses of protectors is a handmade (itsy bitsy tiny knitted) finger puppet of old Spongey. I did purchase this little lovely last week at the Folk Festival downtown. How could I possibly pass up a $3.00 bargain like that?

My other recent acquisitions are a new pair of Sunglasses, blue with �Spongebob Squarepants� written atop the right lens (sometimes distracting). This was given to me from a friend who�s mom bought it for her for her birthday. She has no idea who Spongebob is. I�m not sure whether to feel pleased at receiving this new prize, or disgruntled that someone doesn�t know of Spongebob!

Another recent procurement � in my new sensible shoe life � a pair of Spongebob and Patrick flip-flops. These were a parting gift from my boss when she finished up in May. I have yet to wear them beyond my carpeted home. I�m silly I know, but I don�t want to tarnish them (just yet).

And � Lord bless my husband � T succumbed to the lure of supplying me with the spongeyest of Spongey�s � a large, (getting larger) TV/relaxing/reading/reclining Spongebob throw pillow with colourful Spongebob�s, Patrick�s, and Gary�s (Spongebob�s pet snail who meow�s) cavorting about. I think T was more surprised and excited at his find than I was. I was none-the-less touched at his thoughtfulness, and am enjoying it thoroughly. It now graces our living room couch. To which I believe now T is second-guessing his original brilliance. We both firmly feel that it grows during the night, because it appears larger and larger to us each day. What�s with that?

I must admit that I�m enjoying my childish collection, but please, please, please � whatever you do don�t tell my mom!!! She will never understand the concept of �Spongebob Squarepants� and his friends, and will make giant assumptions that I�ve grown attached to sponges or the like. The next thing you know - I�ll be randomly receiving in the mail all things sponge. NOT Spongebob � just spongy. Wash sponges, squeegees, pillows, etc. She�d do it, I know she would � and she�d think she was doing me a great service. Alas, my poor mom.

So if you see any �unique� Spongebob stuff around, please feel free to purchase it for me. Or if you really don�t like me, in that kind of way, feel free to let me know where you found the stuff, and follow the path gleefully.

With my spongeyest regards - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!