Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

4:44 p.m. - 2006-10-02

Charm Bracelet Generation

I think I�m dating myself here, but are you a woman of the �Charm bracelet� generation?

Not the kind of charm bracelets you buy now - the kind that comes with all the charms. But the kind of bracelet that no matter where your travels took you or events occurred, you bought a special little charm that represented the place or time and you added to your bracelet. Generally you acquired your empty silver bracelet around your 13th or 16th birthday. When I was a girl it represented my transformation (of sorts) from girlhood to womanhood, in a jewellery sense. This also gave a direction or gift ideas for your family and friends when birthdays or Christmas rolled around.

I think I was 13 or so when I got mine. I had always been so envious of my mother�s and my great Aunts. I loved to look through the charms they�d collected. I imagined the places or milestones the little trinket illustrated. I also enjoyed the sound of the bobbles jingle-jangling together.

I inherited my great Aunt�s bracelet many years ago, and occasionally wear it and my own, but often forget to put on some of the fun jewellery I have. With my mother�s recent passing I added her bracelet to my treasure chest. I wore it last week to give me comfort. I�m sure the soft jingle-jangle of it drove the people around me crazy, but that�s ok.

So � am I the only one out there who remembers this feminine tradition? Please leave me a note and let me know.

Here is a picture of what I�m talking about � in case you haven�t heard of them before.

Charming Charms

It�s not quite �bling-bling�, but they�re fun none-the-less.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!