Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

4:40 p.m. - 2006-09-26

Nuts and trees

Usually I start these entries with �where did my week go � ?�. Well, this time its �Where did September go????!!!!� What a blurr.

There is too much to cover here in one entry. I have so many thoughts that I wanted to share. I will at least start the events out. Last week went as well as could be expected. T and I drove to Jasper on Saturday � a 12 hour drive. We caught the first ferry off the island which leaves at 7am. Not a pretty hour for anyone.

I know that I alluded to my mother�s eccentricities on occasion, and whenever I�ve shared a memory with someone about her it is generally accompanied by a chortle of sorts. I know what your thinking �that�s not very nice�, but you�ve got to understand - most of the time my mother set herself up for these giggles from others. She may not have known it, but that�s life. She was a 6 year old in an adult�s body, and lived for the attention that garnered. She lived large and capricious!

During the hour and a half ferry ride I had a brief stint in the ladies loo. I was just washing up, and thinking about my mom when my attention was caught in the mirror �

There before me was a reflection of a 40 year younger version of my mother. Spongebob T-shirt, Spongebob socks (although these could not be seen at that moment), added with the nice rings and jewellery that I like to wear.

I thought about my Spongebob collection. My earings with peas on one side and a carrot on the other. My love of video games. My enjoyment of Saturday morning cartoons. The list went on ...

I was my Mother�s daughter.

This nut had not fallen far from the tree.

And I belted out a huge laugh, as I stood alone in the ferry�s bathroom. No matter how hard you try � there will always be vestiges of your parents that stick with.

Since then my husband has assured me that although I have some quirks that are much like my mother � I am nothing like her. I am my own individual � and it�s all good.

More tales of travels and requiems to come.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!