Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

3:59 p.m. - 2006-06-29

Thinking outside my head

Thinking outside of my head �.
Almost seems like an oxymoron really. I�ve been talking inside my head for years �

I digress �.

As I�ve mentioned in recent entries, our church office (my place of employment) is on the hunt for a new Receptionist. Through the job posting, resume submissions, short listing, and interview process we�ve managed to come down to one applicant that we all like. However, as qualified as this women is, as ready to move on from where she is now she hasn�t quite comprehended the meaning of working for a church, or working �in� ministry. Admittedly, this woman has been working for several years in a union position, and you can be darn sure that �union� position pays a great deal more than your average church office person. Hence, I think � she will say no to us.

But back to my �thinking outside my head� � an associate and I were talking about the receptionist position and the feelings that the lady of our choice would not accept given the tightness of the church funds � he fell upon the concept that I develop that position and morph it in with my present one (administrative assistant to the Executive Pastor). He furthered it to say that he felt I was ideally suited for this position on a number of levels, not the least of which is I have the right personality (pleasant, kind, yet strong in boundaries) , and have more than adequate skills.

I would, of course, have to ask for a raise, but I would also be assisting the church in easing up on the budget belt because they wouldn�t have to hire. (We (the church) are in need of more funding.)

This is a thought that has briefly crossed my mind on a couple of occasions, but was always dismissed rapidly. This dismissal came with precursory reminders of the past and the unhealthy place I had found myself in during my first year and a half as an employee here. Not a good time - - yet - - coming up to 8 years - - I�m still here - - three positions later - - for some reason God keeps keeping me here.

Is this Receptionist/Administrative Assistant something I should be considering? Can I explain the anxiety I feel surrounding the potential of taking this on? Would it be the right thing to do, certainly would be for the church, but what about me �. or is that a selfish thought? Is this job shift what God want�s me to do?

I don�t know. I�m only thinking outside of my head at the moment.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!