Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

3:41 p.m. - 2006-06-28

Pseudo Projects

My husband and I have launched into a pseudo summer project. I say �pseudo� for a number of reasons.

1) I didn�t know this would turn into a �project�
2) Once �project� was set in motion I was distinctly told it wouldn�t truly see a beginning date until late summer / early fall.
3) Once the brain waves got rolling for T � the project got wings and began to fly.

But I digress . . . .

To give some back history � I�ve been on the hunt, for years, to find a way to properly store and manage my crafting supplies. At present our spare room/my quiet place & craft room looks like we�re getting ready to go camping with all the large plastic tote bins. I have acquired quite a lot of paraphernalia over the 15 or so years I�ve been doing paper crafts. So the search for the perfect system has always been at the back of my mind.

Back at the early part of June we went to a huge garage sale that a group of our youth put on to raise funds for their mission trip to Mexico. Amongst the rubble treasure trove of cast off belongings was an 80�s style �Entertainment Centre�. This piece of furniture was made of solid wood, with two doors at the front that can close of the potential clutter inside, and in rather good shape. It was T who had the vision on this one first. I hadn�t even been thinking about my crafting system. He felt there were a TV would have sat inside this piece we could put in a series of pull out shelves about 5 inches apart � one above the other. This would be a great way to store my stamps � laid out.

In the other areas of the cabinet I could put baskets on shelves for the less stackable stuff (heat gun, stamp pads, ribbons, random stuff).

For thirty dollars we couldn�t go wrong.

As mentioned above, T told me very plainly that this was not a project that he could begin to help me with for quite a while. That�s fine; I had some stripping and refinished to do on it anyway.

Last week, however, all that changed. On a weekend that we had absolutely NO social engagements, or �must do list� to accomplish � he decides that we absolutely MUST go out and find all the necessary hardware for the project. This ended up taking a good portion of Saturday afternoon and then again on Sunday afternoon. (But not all hardware was purchased � yet).

Men seem to think that women are the ones who mull over purchases �. Not so in my household. My husband is incredibly methodical when it comes to shopping. Especially when it�s in a store that I have no interest in. But I digress.

So, here we are on Wednesday and the project is back on the back burner. I still need and want to strip it, and summer has finally arrived which means its wwaaaaayyyyy to hot out to start this part of it. Maybe this weekend, this a lovely llloooonnnngggg weekend to kick off summer.

I�ll keep you posted on this event as it rolls out. I�m still not counting on it being near completion until late August.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!