Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

1:18 p.m. - 2006-05-31

Contentment . . . ?


Concise Oxford Dictionary:
ContentAdj � In a state of peaceful happiness or satisfaction. Satisfy (content with oneself). Accept as adequate despite wanting more or better.

Or the online Dictionary I use reads (second definition)

How do I find contentment? If its there before me and I need only to reach out and grasp it, why can�t I see it?

Is it my human failings, or selfishness that stops me from living in contentment? Then load up the moving van honey. I want to live there!

But it eludes me. It feels like I�m �settling� if I accept contentment as I understand it in my life today. I don�t think settling is the answer either. Settling will only come back to haunt me later, and there I�ll be discontent all over again � back to seeking contentment.

The area that (I feel) robs me of contentment may very well be the figurative �thorn in my side� that the Apostle Paul speaks of in the New Testament. We never find out exactly what Paul�s figurative thorn was, but this is a man who constantly pressed on in the face of great adversity: shipwreck, imprisonment, persecution � to name a few.

Yet even in adversity Paul seemed content �. or was he?

Is looking for contentment not what God wants? Is it just a lure to taking our eyes off of our troubles (albeit momentarily).

I suppose it boils down to - being content means making a choice to be satisfied.

These are the things I ponder in my quiet time with the Lord this morning. We�ll see what he�s got to say about it.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!