Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

11:50 a.m. - 2006-02-14

Valentine Schmalintine!




Your Candy Heart Says "First Kiss"



You're a true romantic who brings an innocent hope to each new relationship.

You see the good in every person you date, and you relish each step of falling in love.



Your ideal Valentine's Day date: a romantic dinner your sweetie cooks for you



Your flirting style: friendly and sweet



What turns you off: cynics who don't believe in romance



Why you're hot: you always keep the romance alive

Funny this (above quiz) � I�ve decided that I�m the Ebenezer Scrooge of Valentines Day. Oh, don�t get me wrong. I�m extremely happy for all of you love bugs our there. But personally � I�d rather sleep through today.

I gave my sweetie a nice hand-made (by me) card this morning; some chocolate, and some poetic word magnets for the fridge. He gave me a card. However, I did inform him that he�s paying for the movie tonight.

The BIG problem I have with Valentines Day is my expectations - or rather � my unmet expectations. What do you do with them? And how do you not create them in the first place?

I don�t just mean concerning Valentine�s Day. I mean in general.

My husband continually tells me that he has NO expectations � on anything or anyone. My first thought is �that�s impossible� � isn�t it? Don�t we all have expectations? Isn�t that all part of disappointment?

Before I was married I absolutely hated Valentine�s Day. It�s a stupid day, for people who have nothing better to do with their lives. Or rather, that�s what I thought and stood behind. I�m wrong, of course, but I can�t help wondering why this day � more than most � creates so much anxiety for people. I�ve read it time and time again on blogs today. Single people that yearn for a relationship and think that�s the answer to their expectations around Valentine�s Day. You couldn�t be more wrong. Marriage gives no assurances that your expectations surrounding Valentine�s Day are vanquished.

I admit that this is quiet possibly just me speaking. I have sometimes felt the loneliest on Valentine�s Day while being married. And even as I write that, I know it all boils back down to my unmet expectations. Darn I hate that word!

Oh Lord, please just let it be February 17th when I open my eyes in a second. But even as I write that I realize that God has given me the best Valentine I could possibly have � His Son.

Happy Valentine�s Day � I love you one and all.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!