Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

9:50 a.m. - 2006-02-08

Board Games and Lent??

Thank you to all that left me their thoughts on my new frames. You�re all so sweet. You did a world of good to this woman�s ego. Thank you.

++++++++++++++

I love games, as I�ve alluded to many times here. However, there are one or two board games I don�t like and will turn down if suggested to play. One of those games is �Risk�, and the other is �Scrabble�. As I�m sure you�ve seen on many a readings here � I couldn�t spell my way out of a paper bag. It is not a gifting, and I am not ashamed. I love and live by the online dictionaries, as well as the huge Oxford Concise stashed in my desk.

That said, I could resist this little generator:


Pholph's Scrabble Generator

My Scrabble� Score is: 21.
What is your score? Get it here.

That�s probably the highest scoring word I�ve ever come up with. A �thank you� to Claire Bug (once again) for posting it in the first place.

On other fronts � it�s Wednesday � it�s sunny out � and I�m doing very well this week. I�ve been doing some research into �Lent� this week. I�m working on the newsletter I produce, and want to put an article in it about teaching children about Lent.

Our church has not historically talked or taught about Lent. This year is a first. It is not uncommon in churches today to not talk about it. It has generally been left to the more conservative or orthodox churches to practice this tradition. But with the evolution of worship rolls in the �emergent� church is getting back to its roots.

There are a lot of misconceptions about Lent. The whens, the whys, the hows. This has caused me to do some thinking on the subject. I didn�t grow up in a churched home, and therefore didn�t practice lent as a family thing. However, faithfully my mom always served pancakes on �Fat� or �Shrove� Tuesday. Which is the day before the 40 days of Lent begins. Basically � you get to pig out before you give up everything. But for my family � pancakes were as far as we went.

For those who don�t understand what Lent is I�ll try to give you a dressed down description. Lent is the forty days special season prior to Easter Sunday. Sunday�s are not counted because it is the Lord�s Day and should be celebrated and therefore no fasting. Lent is a period of fasting or doing without certain foods, praying and repentance. This is to serve as a reminder of the forty days Jesus fasted in the wilderness. Some countries have celebrations like Mardi Gras, which means �Fat Tuesday� in French, the day before Lent begins on Ash Wednesday.

Lent is not just about giving up a food item. It might mean giving up TV, candy, video games, chocolate, or a friend of mine here in the office gave up any dairy products (a lactose intolerant friend asked her to try this). By way of giving up an item for Lent it is also another way to recognize the sacrifice that Christ gave up for us � his life on earth.

But I can see now that I could easily go off on a theological tangent - which I won�t. I would like to put out a request though � if any of you in the know are aware of articles that teach children about Lent, I�d like to hear from you. Please �Contact� me (this will send me an e-mail) and let me know what you know or have found.

Have a brilliant Wednesday!!

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!