Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

4:34 p.m. - 2006-01-24

I'm normal. Really I am.

Idiosyncrasies, according to Dictionary dot com reads: 1) A structural or behavioral characteristic peculiar to an individual or group. 2) A physiological or temperamental peculiarity. 3) An unusual individual reaction to food or a drug.
I was reading my usual daily blog roll yesterday when I came across someone�s meme. This particular meme asked you to name 4 or 5 of your �quirks� or �idiosyncrasies�. Well, my immediate thought was �I don�t have any�. I don�t do anything odd. I have no unusual �quirks�. I�m completely normal �.

Well, that last sentence might be stretching it a bit.

But the whole idea of having an idiosyncrasy got me thinking. As much as we don�t like to admit it � we do things that bug other people. Or small things that no one else notices, but the truth is WE ALL have little quirks that we don�t even give a second thought too. For instance � the guy that sits on the other side of my cubicle at work has a habit of rubbing his hands together vigorously, like the bad guys in movies - and several times a day � for no apparent reason � just rub, rub, rub. It�s not the hand movement that bothers me so much as the sound. The sound of sandpaper on sandpaper �.. eww � that just gives me goose bumps up my spine at the thought.

But me �. No � I can�t possibly do anything that annoying � do I?

Well actually, if I�m honest with myself � eating anything on my plate that I don�t like first. I�m generally not conscious of the fact that I will begin to eat the vegetables or lesser-liked foods on my plate first. This is so that I can savour the meat or main portion of my dinner better.

Or � How I like to brush my teeth with warm to hot water. I don�t know when I started it, or why, but it drives my husband crazy.

Then there�s the fact that I HAVE TO! Pull out any inserted leaflets or advertisements from magazines that I buy. You know, those little cards to subscribe, or sell you something you don�t want, can�t use, and don�t need. I hate them, and I�ve taken this little trait of mine and will even doing it when I�m in the doctors office, or visiting a friend. Now . . . . . I�ve even got my hubby doing it �.. teeheeee.

Now you know some of the deepest darkest idiosyncrasies this Mugwhump has. Which only proves the point � I�m far from normal and yet � completely normal.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!