Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

4:03 p.m. - 2005-11-07

Power outage in town and in brain

We had a power outage last Thursday for several hours. We were sent home from work after the first two hours. I was completely at a loss with what to do with myself. What�s the deal with that? I�m always begging for more time to spend with myself�

I ended up with a brainstorming idea of going to the library. They had heat, and lights �. And something else I really love � books. Yet � I haven�t been there in a couple of years. It was great. The hard part was remembering, off-the-cuff, all the authors I always promised myself I�d look up. As it was I came away with three books.

1) The Gathering, by Isobel Carmody. She is an Australian author who writes some darn fine youth literature. If you like Youth literature make sure to hunt down her �Obernewtyn Chronicles�. You�ll be hooked � I promise.

2) Bag of Bones, by Stephen King. I loved his stuff in the 80�s then drifted away. This is giving it a second chance.

3) and a Terry Prachet novel. He writes funny Sci-Fi, but I can�t remember the title of this one.

I�m half way through �The Gathering� and have been enjoying it immensely.

After the sojourn to the library, I came back home to find the electricity and heat re-introduced to our home. YAY!! I could have gone back to work � but I didn�t want too. As it turned out � our server was down at the office, and we couldn�t get to any of our files, e-mails, or the Internet in general. That takes a huge chunk of my workload away from me, and at a very inconvenient time too! We�re back up and running as normal today (Monday) at least.

One little windy day and electrical outage has really put a crimp in my mental functions. Maybe I fried a neuron or something, and it�s taking a little longer to re-join the pack. I�m just having a heck of a time getting back into the swing of things.

Thankfully � this week is a short week, as Friday is November 11th, and a holiday. I should be heading to the local war epitaph, but I suspect we�ll have a low-keyed morning at home. I will try to remember a �moment of silence� at the stroke of 11, and thank God for the many men and women who have done their jobs to keep this country free. For this, I am very thankful.

Blessings - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!