Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

2:25 p.m. - 2005-10-19

Why Me?

Pre / Post-script - I thank FM and Beth for their fine, complimentary comments. But I really wasn't looking for praise. Heck - I know you guys love me. Who wouldn't? (said with tongue in cheek). What I'd like to know is what draws you towards particular bloggers? What keeps you going back? NOT - what keeps you coming back here. That I truly will never understand. So, for anyone one joined in late - read the following and this pre / post-script will make much better sense.

I don�t know why any of you come here. Really I don�t! I�ve read myself, and frankly I leave me wanting. And that�s not �wanting� as in �more�.

However, in the act of asking myself �why would anyone want to read here?� I am forced to ask myself � �Why do I read the diary�s I do?�

Recently I was having a discussion with my boss. I�ll call her BR. BR and I were trying to brainstorm ways to spruce up our �Family and Children�s Ministry� newsletter. What was originally designed to be completely child friendly, has graduated into a news forum for parents, with very small doses of interest for children. We needed our target audience back. We wanted our target audience back. They�re way more fun than the adults anyway!

We asked ourselves � �Why would a child want to take this home?� �. �Why would I, as an adult, want to take this home?� This dominoed me into asking the top two questions about reading blogs.

My immediate thoughts is � comical � someone who has a flair to make me laugh. This is an integral part of why I read a persons blog (for the most part). Then, probably very quickly followed with � well-written � clear, concise � grammatically understandable, but mostly � make me laugh.

And reason is � eye-catching page. For some reason, I am often more intrigued into reading some blogs based on how they�ve designed their page. Which is funny, because mine is far from any of that. I�ve had the same purple up there for a couple of years now. Oh, I�ve had blog-friends (I�m coining a new phrase there) suggest ideas, even offer to help me out. But I�ve never followed through with it. So you�re stuck with purple � for now, and particularly because I won�t go �Gold� again, so you won�t be seeing any pictures in the near future. (I�ve since joined flickr, but haven�t linked).

If I have the time, and desire I will also visit new blogs based on suggestions from people that I read regularly. I figure that if they think that a certain person�s blog is worth reading � then I can try them too. This theory has led me to read many of you. (But as MANY of you know - Laura-Jane is the reason that I�m here in the first place. It�s all her fault � and I love her for it.)

Anyway � I turn the question back to you - what makes you read someone else�s bog? What is it that attracts you?

Send me an e-mail, leave me a comment or note, and I�ll post my findings.

Have a most excellent Wednesday! Blessings - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!