Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

1:33 p.m. - 2005-09-30

Tapping into my roots

It�s Friday and I�ve found a moment to come up for precious air. Oh, don�t get me wrong � I have an �In� basket on my desk that has large hairy teeth and is threatening to eat my right arm if I don�t attend to it soon. But I think if I shift a paper or two it might keep until this afternoon.

I�m not sure if I�ve shared here or not, but I decided to help out with our Sunday morning kids program (called Crosswalk), in the capacity of Small Group Leader of the Grade 5 girls. To be honest - I am completely in love with them!

I had anticipated that these young ladies would eye me up wearily, and give me an attitude which would make me run from the room, pulling out my every last grey hair (which might not be such a bad thing). Instead, I was met with five young lasses who eyed me up opening and with acceptance. I was bowled over with delight.

Which brings me to this small bit of time I have on my hands a work today to go over the lesson plan for Sunday. I, having had a somewhat jaded approach to the grade 5 girls� class, am a little stumped on what to do with 10 year olds. I�ve read over the lesson plan, and realize that I remember and know so little about ten-year-old girls. I was one once, that�s a proven fact, but do I adequately remember? Or have things changed in the last 30 years?

We�ll be playing �Bible Bingo� � yes I know that doesn�t sound like a whole lot of fun. But I have it on good authority, that if sufficient prizes are given, any game like this goes over with great aplomb. I�ve already photocopied the bingo cards onto colourful construction paper. Tomorrow I�ll have to pick up some little treats to give as prizes.

The part about my small group time with them that I�m most disconcerted about is the craft. How crafty are ten year old girls? Do they like to colour? Do they feel it�s too juvenile (like I�m feeling about the suggested colouring craft)? Or is this something that just makes their creative, demiurgic hearts soar with delight, and thankfulness to me for having introduced such a project to them?

Are my expectations too high? Or too low?

Ultimately, it will all boil down to how much preparation I get too. I�ll let you know how it all turns out.

Cheers - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!