Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

5:34 p.m. - 2005-06-17

Being fired and out of style

When springtime comes I lament the loss of my favourite television shows. I put to bed for the season, all the shows I�ve faithfully watched since October, and begin to fill the void with more educational or creative ventures (read: crafting, readings). However, sometimes the �off� season replacements prove to be equally entertaining and consuming.

Although the words �Reality TV� have become a bit of joke (what�s real about 16 people living all in an enclosed house and each week someone gets evicted?), I marvel at the creativity and attempts. The newest line that I�ve seen has been �Please � Fire me!�, and .

I find that I�m drawn to these new shows because I�m so tired of the same old format of Sitcoms, and I find most Legal drama�s banal (although, I continue to be a huge fan of CSI). I�m a sucker for a show that will make me laugh, and �Please � Fire Me� fits that bill. In fact, I�ve been seen to gregariously guffaw out loud! Not much does that � to that extent anyway.

Side note:What it reminds me of is back in my early 20�s when I jokingly decided that I was going to become such a bad employee that companies would pay me NOT to work for them. Sadly that dream has not been realized, nor will I gain such notoriety. Alas . . . It�s tough being a responsible goody-two-shoes!

So to some extent the contestants on �Please � Fire Me� are living out my dream. They are competing to be the worst employee�s deemed un-employable. All for the paltry sum of $25,000. It truly is amazing to what extreme someone will go to be obnoxious, without going to illegal lengths or asking specifically to be fired. If you get a chance to see this show � give up 30 minutes of your life for it. You may thank me later.

�The Cut� �. Well �. It�s just another example of prim Donna people who think they can Outwit, Out-Last, Out-play other prim Donna�s for a chance to be an Apprentice to Tommy Hilfiger for a year. The only difference being that they aren�t on an exotic island (they live in a trendy apartment in Soho), and they don�t hear �You�re Fired!� at the end of a tedious day � they hear �You�re out of Style!�

Yet � I still watch. What is wrong with me? Actually, by the end of my day, when I�m outta style � I like to kick back and watch someone else�s bad day.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!