Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

9:38 a.m. - 2004-12-10

Either / Or

I�ve �filched� this from Proverbial. She always comes up with these great lists. Something festivus for us to do.

Christmas Either/Or
This is a fun (isn't it about time we have some?) free for all, so try to answer the choices, but don't feel confined by them and do wander off on any tangents, like about favorite stocking stuffers or traditions or foods or just whatever...
1. gifts on xmas eve or day
2. stocking first or last
3. meal turkey or roast or ham
4. main meal on xmas eve or day
5. snowmen or gingerbread men
6. church service or not
7. advent wreath/calendar or other tradition(s)
8. nativity wood or porcelain or not
9. star or angel atop tree
10. Douglas fir or spruce (or?)
11. store-bought tree or chop it down yourself or live tree
12. white or coloured lights
13. blinky or solid lights
14. inside: decorate like crazy or in moderation
15. outside: props/lights or none
16. dominant theme in decor: Santa or Jesus (or?)
17. hot cider or hot chocolate
18. eggnog or mulled wine
19. classic candy canes or fruity
20. sunny or snowy

Bonus section - Favourites
1. Christmas carol
2. Charitable act (i.e. soup kitchen, angel tree, etc.)
3. Christmas movie
4. Christmas memory
5. Gospel account of Jesus' birth

I�m posting my answers tomorrow, but I�d love to hear some of your answers.

Cheers - LJ

1. gifts on xmas eve or day - Christmas day, right after Stockings and brunch
2. stocking first or last - FIRST!!!!! Just try and stop me
3. meal turkey or roast or ham - Turkey. Once I was a my brother's for Christmas and they decided to server Salmon. That Christmas I was a vegetarian. Can't stand Salmon. That was also the last year my brother experimented with tradition.
4. main meal on xmas eve or day - Christmas day
5. snowmen or gingerbread men - Gingerbread, although I've been having thought/wants of making a snow angel.
6. church service or not - Christmas Eve
7. advent wreath/calendar or other tradition(s) - T and I made an Advent wreath last year. This year I put it up, but it took me a week to find candles for it. And we have yet to light it on a single day
8. nativity wood or porcelain or not - We have a small plastic one that we bring out
9. star or angel atop tree - An Angel that T and I bought before we even got engaged
10. Douglas fir or spruce (or?) - Whatever has the right, affordable price
11. store-bought tree or chop it down yourself or live tree - Live
12. white or coloured lights - mixed
13. blinky or solid lights - mixed
14. inside: decorate like crazy or in moderation - moderation, It's a whole lot of work generally, putting up and taking down
15. outside: props/lights or none - Lots of lights, most 'props' are kinda hokey looking
16. dominant theme in decor: Santa or Jesus (or?) - I think you can guess my answer, and it doesn't involve a jolly, fat man
17. hot cider or hot chocolate - Hot Choco!!!!
18. eggnog or mulled wine - Eggnog
19. classic candy canes or fruity - Sad to say - fruity
20. sunny or snowy - I'm a west coast girl - I'll take the sun!

Bonus section - Favourites
1. Christmas carol - I like most of them, but all in moderation
2. Charitable act (i.e. soup kitchen, angel tree, etc.) - Our church does Christmas Hampers for families in need. I'd like to do more, but I often find the season a little overwhelming
3. Christmas movie - Starting this year - The Polar Express. Otherwise - The Grinch Who Stole Christmas - original version
4. Christmas memory - Tough question, but what came to my mind first what the year (I was 9 or 10) when I thought I heard Santa walking down the hall towards my room, and I wasn't asleep yet. Oh dear!!
5. Gospel account of Jesus' birth - No one Gospel stands out to me. They all have a different perspective, and I like that

Now its your turn. :-)

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!