Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

9:53 a.m. - 2004-11-29

Ahead of my time

Where to begin . . . where to begin . . . .

I read Laura-Jane�s entry first thing this morning, and I totally am on board with her Christmas sentiment (particularly the �Festivus� part). I find that the older I get the more I resist Christmas, or at least all the craziness, and �must do�s� that accompany this time of year. It�s not even December yet (two days to go) and there was T and I putting up our outdoor Christmas lights. What�s with that? We seem to be unintentionally on the ball this year.

First, as stated in a previous post � I have all my Christmas cards made, just not posted yet. That absolutely MUST not happen before December 1st.

Then the lights being all up and lit and ready to go � before December 1st. That�s just plain wrong!

THEN, as I so merrily baked 7 dozen butter tarts last week for a Christmas Bake Exchange, to be swapped � what I thought was � yesterday � November 28th. I failed to read the larger than life, bold red on green, bigger than Texas print, which clearly stated � �come by on Sunday DECEMBER 5th�. I left my crafting post yesterday afternoon, goodies in hand, ready to exchange sweet for sweet � to be greeted at my friends door with a stunned expression. No more stunned than I was when I realized my mistake.

And to top this Mother of all Christmas Sundae�s off � I�m not even �IN� the Christmas spirit yet. And I�m not sure I will ever make it. I will blink December away, and wake up on January 2nd wondering what the heck happened.

This isn�t fair. I want the wonder and excitement back that I once felt as a kid. I saw a glimpse of that when we went to see �The Polar Express�. Had it been snowing (in Victoria � HA!) when we�d come out of the theatre I would be singing Christmas Carols, and wearing red and green Christmas earrings right now. But alas, even that fleeting emotionalism depleted quickly.

What gets you into the �Christmas Spirit�? Or is it something you fight with every fibre of your being? Inquiring minds want to know.

Cheers - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!