Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

10:43 a.m. - 2004-10-01

Enunciate

In our household T and I have an expression � �I�ve decided we . . .�
This is a useful beginner to express a need, want, or desire that the confronted spouse must be open to. (�must� is a strong word, but given that we generally use the expression tongue in cheek � I�m sure you�ll understand the intent).

So . . . I�ve decided we . . . . (go with me here folks � this �we� implies YOU) will be using the Word of the Day link that I�ve posted on my side-bar. I LOVE words. I love using unusual words. I�m always looking for new words (to me) that express a thought or feeling differently. So that�s why I added that link. I�m going to try to intentionally use the word I�m given from this link on any given day, and work it into my entries.

But on to our word of the day � Enunciate � 1) to say or pronounce clearly. 2) set out precisely or definitely. (Concise Oxford Dictionary)

When I�m a little nervous, or even a little hyper I tend to enunciate my words very precisely. Clipped tones are emitted from my lips without much forethought. I think I do this out of a need to be heard. A need to have my point expressed clearly. (I was unheard in family as a child).

So, when I was first seeing T I was naturally a little nervous. I really wanted to be myself, and yet thoroughly impress this guy. I thought he was pretty wowzer from the beginning. After a few months of spending time together, and innumerable conversations, he shyly asks me �Why do you enunciate your words so much. It used to really bug me, but I�m getting used to it now.� At first I was a little hurt, it is not something that I do on purpose. But then I realized that in my attempts to be me � this is part and parcel of the person he has come to love. And it didn�t seem to be a great deterrent to him.

After 3 years, and uncountable conversations, I still find myself enunciating my words when we�re in an in-depth conversation. My old patterns resurface quickly, but T has become accustomed to it and no longer comments.

Cheers - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!