Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

9:55 a.m. - 2004-09-27

Movie reviews and more

T and I went to see �Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow� on Saturday (ohh date night with the hubby!!). We had initially thought we would go see �Hero�, but I am glad to say T�s attention got shifted and I�ve been saved.

It�s not that I have anything against martial arts movies; in fact, in the right frame of mind I can truly enjoy the grace and beauty of its movements. But when its in a movie, with subtitles, and a storyline that does not endear me . . . . my viewing eyes and senses would rather be filled with other content.

So it was with gladness in my heart we tromped off to see �Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow�. It was a wonderful throwback to the movies of the 30�s. Sepia tones overriding the traditional black and white, with female character�s speaking in clipped yet slightly lazy sensual tones - male character�s ever ready with a cheesy quip. In general it was a refreshing change from today highly explosive (literally), fast paced action.

But then again the reason I have been seeing those �highly explosive, fast paced� movies is because that is all that I can drag T out to see on our rare cinematic outings. I have come to the conclusion that I will NEVER cajole him out to see anything remotely involving the phrase �Chic-flick�. This one dared to come close, but I�m still in the safe zone due to its clever fight scenes and robots.

Otherwise we had a �usual� weekend. Back to normal for Sunday�s � church all morning, recuperate all afternoon. But I�m not complaining, I have a new energy for my work, and an excitement that has been lost over the last year or two. And as I have been quoted to say before � God is good all the time. All the time God is good!!

I can�t wait for November � Spongebob gets his first big screen adventure, and Bridget Jones continues her romantic escapades with the sequel to �Bridget Jones� Diary� with �Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason�. I�m so excited � now I just have to find someone to go with. . . .

Cheers - LJ
P.S. - I forgot to tell you about our exploits Saturday morning - running errands on the motorcycle. Not highly recommended if you plan on purchasing anything. I did manage to score something that I've been looking for for a very long time. A coffee grinder with a well and a timed grinder. Up until Saturday we were only finding what we wanted in the $80 - $150 range, but suprise and behold we found exactly what I wanted in Zellers for $15. Time will tell if we should have purchased the more expensive models. For now . . . . I'm deliriously happy with our new little aquisition. Happy wife means happy husband.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!