Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

9:11 a.m. - 2004-09-22

Childhood fears

P-O-Y begs the question - Do you remember what you were afraid of when you were a little child? What brought it on? How did you deal with it?

Well, I�ve been pondering this question for a couple of days. That, and I haven�t spent much time here lately so my creative juices aren�t flowing like I�d like them. Or rather they are, but only in a work sense � boring stuff for my diary.

I have always been a rather shy, introverted person. Emphasised to the max when I was a kid. I had regular kid like fears - things living under the bed and in the closet, old people (see Nocturnal Mental Meaderings.

What brought these fears on? I don�t know. Do I still battle the dark today � certainly not, at least not when it comes to beddy-bye time � the darker the better. But I do need a small point of reference. I need to be able to discern where the window or door is. Otherwise when I wake up sleepwalking I�m terribly disoriented. I still walk and talk in my sleep, often sitting up in bed, eye�s open, talking up a storm to some person or situation occurring in my dream state. Having partial wakefulness I am often aware that I�m dreaming awake. Drives T crazy!! (I�ve lost count of the times I�ve woken up with different clothes on, my bedside light on, or object placed beside my bed that weren�t there when I went to bed.)

However - dark basement can still gives me the heebee-geebee�s.

I�m over my fear of old people. I had a lot of great aunts and uncles (no grandparents though � they decided to leave this earthly plain long before I came to be) in my youth, so I would suspect that fear came out of my shyness more than a fear.

This is not to say that I don�t have any fears now, as an adult. Our adult fears are often far more complex than we were kids. These fears can possibly come out of our childhood, but didn�t manifest themselves until later. But that�s a whole different entry.

What about you? Do you still carry fears from your youth? How did you overcome them?

Cheers - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!