Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

2:45 p.m. - 2004-08-09

Personalities and Bowling

Finally a personality test I took that I connected with. I think this describes me very well.

Enneagram
free enneagram test

Type Four

The Individualist

The introspective, romantic type. Fours are self-aware, sensitive, and reserved. They are emotionally honest, creative, and personal, but can also be moody and self-conscious. Withholding themselves from others due to feeling vulnerable and defective, they can also feel disdainful and exempt from ordinary ways of living. They typically have problems with melancholy, self-indulgence, and self-pity. At their Best: inspired and highly creative, they are able to renew themselves and transform their experiences.

So . . . anyway . . . . I had a weekend of 1st �s. Two in fact, but my first first will be first! (teehee � I kill me!) Saturday night T and I trundled out to Western Speedway for the 6th Annual Denominational Derby. That is to say that several Pastors from around town get cars all souped up and then race them against each other. Not only was this the first time I�d gone to watch the Pastors of Disaster (with our church�s very own Pastor �Crash� Crawford), but also the first to ever go to stock car racing of any calibre.

I must say � it was a hoot!!

As a kid growing up in Ontario it was always a tradition to go to the CNE (Canadian National Exhibition) in Toronto, and some years � if I was lucky � our family would stay for the evenings grand stand exhibitions. Once I recall seeing a �demolition derby� where old cranky cars just bashed into each other until death, but the Denomination Derby was a true blue race � except with cranky old cars and equally inexperienced drivers.

(Side note: Once when at the CNE I also recall (around the age of 7 or so) seeing Victor Borga. A brilliant comedic classic pianist � in his day. My apologise to anyone who is to young to know of whom I�m talking.)

I digress � I really didn�t know what to expect from the evening. Was it just the Pastor�s racing? Were there other kinds of vehicles being raced. Was this a demolition derby? Was this something people did on a Saturday night when it wasn�t bowling season (see two entries ago when I found out my �White Trash� quotient). Was this something that was going to be entertaining in any size, shape, or form?

Upon arriving I was quickly brought up to speed on what the evening would entail. There was going to be Motorcycle races (pseudo moto-cross), mini-stock car racing (Datsun and Toyota size cars), and some larger regular type race cars (the difference between these and NASCAR??? Someone please enlighten me). I was quite enthralled with this event as the various races enfolded. You can�t help but be caught up in the excitement, and get your adrenaline rushing as the cars (and bikes) went full throttle around what appeared to me to be a very small track. Although T tells me that this is the normal size for this level of racing.

I was enraptured. I ewwwww�d, ahhhh�d, and ohhhhh�d along with the rest of the crowd.

The main reason most of us where there were to watch our Pastor�s tap into their inner boy child, and they did that with great bravado. There were two heats for the Pastor�s that evening. The first heat was 4 laps around. That is if they could keep the cars on the track. There were nine cars competing, and I�m silly to say � the 9th placement car was a 1980 something Gremlin. Does anyone remember the Gremlin? It immediately got the nickname the �fishbowl�. Sad to say � it only made it 2 laps around before it was soundly taken out on a corner and had to be removed by a tow truck. Driver intact, albeit shaken.

The second heat was after half time and it was 10 laps around. By this time two of the remodelled, re-motored, re-painted, re-worked vehicular transport (I use the term lightly due to the fact that these cars � for the most part � got pulled out of the trash to start with) had pulled out due to �mechanical difficulties�. The remaining 7 did a valiant job at staying in the race as best as possible. Two cars were definitely in it for the finish line, the next three cars battled it out for 3rd, 4th, and 5th place. 6th place kept up a brilliant front, and the 7th place car look to all as if this was just another Sunday drive in the park. IF 7th actually made it around six times before the checker�d flag flashed I would have been surprised.

What did surprise me though is my way of processing things. Because in my womanly mind-set (the only way I have available to me), I look at events like these and deem them masculine territory. Therefore � any and all questions can only be answered by a man . . . . Since I�m married � T is my most logic answer giver. I made assumptions that because this is car and motorcycle racing he should be able to pull answers out of thin air as to why something or other is happening. Why is the yellow flag being shown? Why is the black flag being flown? Why do the motorcyclist take the turns this way? How can the cars stay so close on the turns and not crash into each other? How fast are they going?

For the most part T entertained me as best he could. There were a few answers he couldn�t give, but then I would remember that not all men know all things about all things masculine. I suppose it follows along the lines of when men ask women (me) about having babies, or PMS. How should I know that? I�ve never had a baby before! I won�t address the PMS questions.

Are you still wondering, or have you long since forgotten, what my 2nd first is?

Well I�ll tell you � I turned down the purchase of a particular Spongebob merchandise item. I said �NO� to a SpongeBob laundry basket. It�s true � ask T.

So you see � I can show restraint.

Cheers - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!