Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

12:29 p.m. - 2004-05-26

Waxing Sentimental

For some reason I�ve been thinking nostalgically lately. Why? I don�t know. Having been a child of the 60�s I, and many others of my kind, grew up in front of the boob tube. Parents around the world were suddenly faced with an in house babysitter. Not quite realizing the long term effects to our little minds and psyche. But I have been wondering . . . . . who remembers:

H.R. Puffinstuff

Kookla Fran and Ollie

Mr. Dressup

The Friendly Giant

Chez Helen

Rocket ship 7 (probably only in the Hamilton/Buffalo area)

The Courtship of Eddies Father

My 3 Sons

The Munster�s

The Adams Family (the original)

Get Smart

Gilligan�s Island

Family Affair

Thurber

The Uncle Bobby Show (out of Toronto)

My Friend Martian

The Andy Griffith Show

And there were all those great cartoons on Saturday mornings. I turn on the TV now on a Saturday morning and am totally disappointed. There are no great cartoons on anymore. I can�t even find 40 year old Bugs Bunny and friends � Road Runner, Tazmanian Devil, that little martian dude. Oh, I know what you�re saying to yourselves �Why is a grown woman looking for cartoons?�, but don�t forget I�m a die-hard SpongeBob fan. Anyone who likes SpongeBob has got to like cartoons. I�m just pickier than most.

TV was simpler when we were kids. More fun, safer � ok maybe not for Wiley Coyote, but what do you expect from a pseudo canine who mail orders from ACME?

I digress . . . .

If any of you out there remember fondly (or otherwise) any of these shows I�d love to hear your thoughts. I promise you that my feet are firmly planted in the present � 1990 something isn�t it? (only kidding � just pulling your mouse clicking finger). I�m just waxing sentimental. What say you?

Cheers � LJ -

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!