Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

10:04 p.m. - 2004-05-24

Long Weekends - YAY!

Happy Victoria Day Holiday Canada!! A day when we celebrate the birth date of a Queen who died over 100 years ago. A day when, if I�m lucky, I just get to plain laze around!! My prime objective is to only do the things I want to most. But that said I think that also speaks into any given weekend, and wishful thinking weekday.

Needless to say � it is a holiday, and we enjoy it as best as possible. I find it rather ironic that I live in a city named after this illustrious queen, and native Victoria people seem to think that this holiday is named after them (the city), and not said queen. Rather pompous I think. But then again � whom am I to scoff at an extra day off . . . .

We�ve been very fortunate this weekend to only have an overcast/drizzly day on Saturday. Otherwise it�s been beautiful and summery. Saturday I went around to the local gardening centre�s with a girlfriend in search for the perfect bedding and hanging basket plants. There are almost too many choices out there. You could spend your life savings on plants that will only last through the summer. I did show some retrain when choosing, and for some unexplainable reason, people got quite a chuckle out of watching �Hop-along�. What does a �Hop-along� think she is doing in thinking she can garden? Pishawwww, I say � bah humbug to you nay sayers! Hop-along will only be a hop-along for another couple of weeks. Then she�ll show you speed and agility. Ok, maybe not so much speed, and frankly I�m not all that agile, but I�ll show you!! I will!!!

Speaking of the foot � I go to see my doctor tomorrow. I can�t believe its been 3 weeks since I broke it, and 3 weeks Wednesday I�ve been in this cast. Time has gone relatively quickly.

Anyway � back to Saturday. T and I had a wedding to go to in the afternoon. We read the invitation wrong though, and being the sometimes-unorganized couple that we are � not only did we NOT take a dish to the �Potluck� reception, BUT we failed to read that the reception was the following day. Which is kind of a good thing . . . . and yet . . . . Why would anyone want their wedding reception the following day? (all T and I could think of after our wedding was getting the heck out of Dodge City and away from people)

I won�t go into the afternoon events because it seemed fraught to be a domino effect of errors. Like arriving AFTER the bride � that�s just not right.

Sunday wasn�t that much different than any other Sunday. Church in the morning and the DVD we didn�t get to on Saturday night showing in the afternoon. �Master and Commander� � it was definitely the kind of movie you want to see on the big screen, but I was still a little disappointed. I didn�t feel that there was much in the way of character development. To me it felt that I was watching a little slice of life living on a British navel ship 200 years ago. So what? But that�s just my opinion.

I�ve thoroughly enjoyed today. Didn�t really do much of anything. All the purchased plants are planted. Baskets hanging, and rest happening. Sweet, sweet holidays. I�m rather sad at having to go back to work tomorrow. The last 10 or so days off have been grand. I don�t know when I�ll get the rest of this years holidays (I have two more weeks). The big move to one job is only two weeks away, and I�m still not feeling great about it. I�m just not good with change.

On a side note � I�m doing a new Meyers Briggs (personality test). I did one around 11 years ago and came up with an INFJ (Introvert, Intuitive, Feeling, Judging � borderline Judge really). I�m interested in seeing if there have been any changes. We�ll see and I promise to keep you posted.

Cheers � LJ -

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!