Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

2:42 p.m. - 2004-05-11

Yackety-yak

Funny how having to use crutches can really slow you down, and yet � time is just whipping by. I swear I only blinked and I�d fallen, blinked again and I had a cast on my foot, blinked a third time and poof it�s Tuesday (today). Where does all that time go when you�re not looking? I blame it on the platforms.

For Sale: One pair of slightly used brown platform sandals. Dearly loved by owner, but unable to walk AND chew bubble-gum. Call 1-800-AIR-CAST, ask for Hop-Along.

On a completely different note: I�m joining the ranks of the singly employed. For the last 8 plus years I have held two part-time jobs, and for the most part it�s worked out very well. I�ve really enjoyed the diversity that two different types of jobs and work places have given me. Tax season bites, but I�ve never made much money anyway. I�m a little nervous about this transition. I�ve developed a great working relationship with the boss I�m leaving. He�s a bit of a hard and closed man, and a man that I�ve seriously disliked on occasion - but I�ve learned to work with his quirks just like he learned to work with mine (and believe me that takes some doin�!). He�s the owner to a rather large lumber yard and I�m his private secretary.

I learned a long time ago that retail was not for me. I loved playing with the cash register, but got in trouble for pushing all the wrong keys! No one told me that you should only punch in numbers when someone was purchasing something! Go figure!! That and the absolute boredom that came over me when there were no customers.

So I followed the office work route, with a little dabble in the hotel industry, and one season as a horse drawn carriage tour driver (a fun summer, but not a financially lucrative one).

My other job is also working in an office, but with a totally different drive and velocity. A church in Children�s Ministry � there�s no life like it! Talk about categorical opposites. I�m constantly on the go, and rarely know what I�ll be up to from one week to the next. I love that about this job. However, the driving force behind this ministry is leaving at the end of the month. There has been no replacement found (Anyone know of a great Children and Families Pastor looking for an opportunity in an awesome church?). My job stays status quo, but I�ll be starting full time there at the beginning of June. I will however, be working in other areas - not just kids. At this point all that is all a bit nebulous. I�ll keep you posted.

Well . . . once again I didn�t think I had much to write but have spewed out a fair amount of yackety-yak. I only hope I�ve made sense. There are times lately I�ve come to believe that although it�s my foot in a cast my head is also affected. Maybe something also fell out when I fell over?

Tootles - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!