Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

9:00 a.m. - 2004-04-23

Bring on the Brogue

I had a relatively solid nights sleep. That is, I actually fell asleep before eleven and didn�t wake up once � until 6:45 when my alarm went off. But once again, I woke up feeling like I only wanted more . . . . and what�s with all the eye gunk in the morning? It�s almost as if the �Sleepy time Faerie� crept in last night and got a little heavy handed with the faerie dust. Geesh � save some for those other insomniac will ya! I�m still wiping it away.

Friday � that long lusted for day of the week - the end of a busy, hectic, chaotic, five-day servitude. And T and I have to come back here tonight for a �Scottish Gala Farewell� for another Pastor and his wife. Pastor T hase been at this church for 23 years, and last September decided that it was time to move on and try something new.

And yes � if you read an earlier entry this week �Snail-mail, and Departures� you�ll note this is a 2nd Pastor to leave our community. The fact is � this represents the 3rd Pastor (out of a total of 5) since the end of August to move on to different pastures (no �pun intended). But that�s a whole other story.

Pastor T and his wife are in fact Scottish; so the planners of said event felt it prudent to give them a bang-up Highland send off. I think they�re even making me wear a kilt. That is if they can find one big enough, and it doesn�t make me look like Shrek�s girlfriend in Plaid. All this last week people have been dropping off their tartan�d nick-knacks. Those kinds of things people bring you back from travels that you graciously accept then shove to the back of a closet until said giver forgets they�ve been on a trip.

My husband is doing the sound � so what else is new, and I�m taking tickets. I�ve told the organizers that I�ll wear my boxing gloves, and have a hip flask full of whiskey ready for the onslaught of �I didn�t know I had to buy a ticket? I just thought you�d been advertising the event for over a month!� or �What do you mean you�re sold out? This event can�t happen without ME � why I�ve know the Pastor for over two weeks!�

I don�t know about where you live, but here on the west coast people are infamous for not making advanced plans on anything until the last minute. As an event planner myself � that mentality drives me crazy. It�s as if they can�t commit because something better might come along, and then when they do chose and find out the activity is booked � they�re all up in arms and don�t know why they can�t just squeak in. Crimminy!!

I digress � I�m playing Chief ticket taker and bouncer and I�m in a good mood for a fight.

Can�t you just see it now? Headlines on our local paper tomorrow �Local Lady in Garish Tartan Takes on Procrastinating Parishioners�. (side note: remind me never to apply for a headline writer job.)

I�ll let you know how it all turns out. Have a most excellent Friday!

Blessings - LJ

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!