Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

3:05 p.m. - 2004-04-06

Wonderful World of Weeds

Well, I really haven't been doing very well with keeping up have I? And when I do its a silly survey insert. Geesh - lacking imagination or what?

The last week or so has been very busy. For the first time, in I don't know how long, both T and I had a Saturday to ourselves. We could both actually sleep in and be lazy all day IF we wanted to. We were extremely lazy in the morning. Slept in until 9am, which is unheard of for our household. Then we played GameCube until 11:30. Mario Party 5 - what a hoot!

Then . . . . on that most splendiferous sunshinny day MY Husband gave up a beautiful motorcycle cruising day to spend the afternoon working on the garden with me. OH MY GOSHHHH!!!! I couldn't believe it!

Yes Victoria - watch out - a mad man is on the loose (and I love him). If you see a black Yamaha FZ1 screaming past you . . . . it's probably T. Black helmet, black (and some blue) bike jacket, black bike - that's him. IF there's a passenger with a white helmet clining on for dear life - that's me. Pray for me.

Back to my Saturday story . . . . there are two badly overgrown garden beds at the front of our house. Dirt that hasn't seen nutrients of any kind in several years. I had no idea what was going to be coming up this spring because we have only been in the house since October. It all looked like a jumble of weeds and the occasional tulip. And, of course, never having had the opportunity to do any real gardening of my own - I/we had NO tools. So I placed a ordinary shovel in T's hand. Pointed out the few things that weren't weeds and told him to "have-at-her". I jumped into our van and raced down to one of my places of work (conveniently a hardware/lumber store) and picked a hoe, three pronged rake type thing, hose, hose holder and 4 bags of mushroom manure. What fun!! I was off!

When I got back home, to my shagrin, my wonderful husband had made a valiant effort at derooting the overgrown tenatious weeds. I handed him the "new" tools and he thought he died and gone to heaven, and wondered why we'd even tried to weed with a shovel in the first place. It was just like watching a little boy with a new toy.

Needless to say the rest of the afternoon was mostly spent in companionable silence. T working on one bed and me other. We weeded, spread in the mushroom manure, repositioned some remaining and worth keeping plants, and planted some free-be's from friends. Now when I look at the front of the house I see a home that my husband and I are working on together. And peace reigns over all the earth.

Doesn't that just make ya wanna go . . . "ahhhh . . . " It gives me the warm fuzzies anyway.

I still have to come up with more foliage, flowers and growing things, but we've made great headway.

If I remember I'll tell you about the rest of the weekend next time.

P.S. The rest of Saturday evening was pizza and the "Pure Evil" team against the CPU team. To bed early because of the stupid, @%$#(*&^%, blankety-blank time change.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!