Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

2:58 p.m. - 2004-02-20

Thesis Widow

I married an "adult student." Oh, he was a student when I met him. Only - I don't think I ever fully realized the extent of what being an "adult student" meant, or being married to one.

You see - I never perused further education after graduating from Grade 12. I hadn't liked the previous 12 years, I was pretty certain any further attempt wouldn't change that opinion. Besides - I was a believer in experiencing the "school of life".

I digress . . . .

T and I met and married later in life. I'll be 42 in 26 days, and T . . . well T turns the big four - ohhhhhh in May. T has been at University for 10 years he figures, and he's finally down to the short strokes. He is on the finally tweaking of his Masters in Computer Science (something to do with networks). It's due to be handed in next week.

As we have only been married for a year and a half I have never know T outside of his stressful book learning. Compounded by the fact that I have never lived with or around students - since leaving High School - this University Education thing is a whole new bag!!

You students - you have to work too hard, read too much, and sleep too little! What's up with that?

My eyes have been opened to a new way of life. One, that at the moment, I�m not to keen on. I rarely get to see T much these days. His nose is pressed firmly to his computer screen. When I do get a chance to say �hello�, the response is not always that friendly or inviting. Don�t get me wrong � he�s a wonderful man � just rather focused at this point in time. This is not the man I married! I count the days to when he hands off his 10-pound literary genius, and becomes the man that I have seen glimpses of in the past. I suppose I have been fortunate, to meet, marry, and get along with someone who is pursuing an education, and considers it to have been a stressful time . . . this can only mean that it will only get better and greater once that burden is lifted.

So � to all you students out there � KUDOS!! You are a brave lot.

To all you people married or living with students � keep being their support. Things can only get better.

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!