Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"Leave Me A Note"

3:57 p.m. - 2004-02-12

Black Saturday ?

Valentine's Day is quickly approaching. Until a couple of years ago - Valentine's Day was otherwise known as "Black Saturday", or whatever day of the week it fell upon. I strongly disliked the day. My feelings haven't changed much, but now that I've been married 17 months - the dark feelings of apathy (a slight oximoron here) have dissipated somewhat. Until T came into my life, 2 plus years ago, I had never had a Special Valentine Person.

I tried to put a positive spin on it to make it more palitable. Making extra effort with girlfriends. Telling myself that it was (and still is) an overtly commercial Hallmark holiday.

I gotta tell ya . . . my feelings really haven't changed. I told my husband that he should in no way feel obligated to do something special on Valentines Day. Flowers would be nice, but not because he felt he had to, but because he wanted to.

Shhhhh - don't tell him, but I've made an extra special card for him this year, and bought a little box of chocolates that he likes. (I am a rare woman who couldn't care less about chocolate - I realize that admitting this is blaspheme to some).

So - have I succumbed? Have I been sucked in by the allure of Valentines Day? Am I secretly happy that after all these years I have a living breathing valentine all my own?

I don't think so. I love my husband 365 days of the year. I don't need 1 red letter day to celebrate it.

Happy Valentines day to one and all.

P.S. - Here's a challenge. I've had a guestbook for over a week, and no one has signed it. PLEASE sign it. Help me feel that my $2+ Canadian was well spent. You don't have to say anything important or witty. Just say "Hello".

This was before - This is now




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!